top of page
Carlsbad D4 Map.png

Carlsbad's Elected Officials 

The Carlsbad City Council consists of a mayor, elected at large, and four council members, elected by district. We also have an elected City Clerk and City Treasurer, elected at large.

Carlsbad City Council members serve staggered four-year terms.

Carlsbad City Council Districts

The district maps were first drawn in a collaborative community process and approved by the City Council in 2017. District 4 had its first election in 2020, when voters chose Teresa to be their representative. The district maps were redrawn by an independent redistricting commission in 2021, using updated data from the US Census. The district changed only slightly, taking in a few more streets along the northeastern border of the district.

District 4

District 4 is the southernmost district in Carlsbad, stretching from Ponto Beach on the westside, across Batiquitos Lagoon, jogging east, then all the way south, along the city's entire southern border with Encinitas.

District 4 includes most of La Costa, including the Omni La Costa Resort, La Costa Oaks, La Costa Town Square, La Costa Canyon HS, La Costa Valley, The Forum, La Costa Glen, and parts of Aviara.

More info

Learn more about Carlsbad City Council Districts here.

bottom of page